New Mexico, My Love

I wander your horizons. I meander through your desert. I scale your mountains. I fly through your endless sunshine. I am a part of you. And you are a part of me. Every time I am able to return…all I am is ignited in passion. I am driven by the mere thought of you.

When I planned this last cross-country road trip I promised myself I would truly ENJOY it this time. The first time I was with my mother and we got across the country in 5 days.The second time was just me and I did the same thing. Not this time. This time I knew better.

There are 2 places on that journey that sing to my soul, so I decided to stay a bit longer this last time around. New Orleans, which I profoundly adore. And then there’s New Mexico. Oh, New Mexico. How I deeply love you. There is something I cannot explain that rings within the center of my being when I’m here. Like a brilliant light cutting through the darkest of darkness.

I have never EVER been someone who can be summed up, I am not easily defined. I am fascinated with life in general therefore I am not driven by a single aspect of it. But here…here. It connects with the me I truly am. It lightly lifts my inner self to the surface so she can breathe and take in the light of day. I feel such serenity here. A stillness. A calm that becomes unearthed within the center of my soul. Oh, New Mexico. How I love you so.

It isn’t necessarily just the landscape, which I dream of. It’s so much deeper than that. It’s the spirit, the energy, the life brimming on the surface here. The influence of the past, the culture created, the people, it truly is all it’s own. Even the other similar desert states aren’t like here. It envelopes the very concept of unique. It is not easily defined, like me, so it seems.

For now, my life is continuously morphing as I discover who I am. I have learned some vital, concrete things about myself that at one point were elusive and undefined. I belong in New Mexico. It is where I am drawn to. This is where I feel the most connected to who I am. I am meant to dwell in her desert.

And I will. One day soon I will catch the wind that will carry me home. Until then, I will dream of a place that fuels my heart to continue on.

One day, my desert. One day.

Leave a comment