Hello Dear Journal,

I’ve mentioned times prior within my writing that I get recurring dreams. I wouldn’t say I have them often but when I do have them there are patterns to them. For example, the recurring dreams come consistently during a period of heavy transition in my life. By consistently, I mean nightly until the period of transition either passes or I reach a mental clarity on the subject and no longer feel the need to dwell.

Another pattern that I have noticed is the dreams are all set in these idyllic tropical Hawaii scenes of which I am already familiar, yet amplified to a whimsical extreme. In this specific pattern I am always involuntarily plunged into some dramatic, dreamy, watery scene come to find my spirit is ignited by this moment and I am now drawn to it.

There is one scene of a cavernous inlet carved into a steep valley of green. The waters are cool and crystal clear. The world below the surface is massive and enchanting. This one has since become my favorite. I always seem to feel a sense of unknowing yet I am comforted with an understanding and acceptance.

There is this other version, however, I struggle to comprehend. I’m cast into a swollen sea off the southeast side, watching the cliffs rise and fall. The day is, oddly, perfect. The sky is a radiant, crisp blue with a few fluffs of brilliant white clouds. The ocean winds have a slight kick to them and the deep blue waters bare their sharp edges. When I begin to feel comfortable with the water I turn to find an enormous swell rolling quickly towards me. That’s when I feel myself begin to get heavy. Then it’s gone. I’m somewhere else or I’ve awakened.

The odd thing is I don’t always feel the same after that specific dream. Every time there is a different emotion drawn from it. One time I was vulnerable and afraid. Another I was hit with a heavy sorrow. This last time, however, I felt serene with a sense of courage and will. I must say, the view from the ocean is beyond incredible. My mind paints quite the picture. Also interesting to note, the only time I had the privilege of seeing the shore from the water was this last time, when I felt serene.

These dreams keep me engaged in the most pointless tail-chasing thought processes. I’m constantly trying to understand them all. Clearly, there is something my brain is working out and it’s using this format to attempt to accept my current situation for all it is. And, naturally, with my mind erring on the side of caution, it won’t directly address a specific subject. Instead, it’ll dance around it in a gorgeous, scenic setting. Which honestly does more harm than good, I believe. Now I’ve unintentionally romanticized a challenging topic which in turns causes it to become even more challenging with attachment. See?! Tail-chasing.

So these dreams, albeit breathtaking, are quite the double-edged sword , it seems to me. Although, I must admit, the wave of excitement, the rush of adventure, the tranquility of the beauty leave me enamored and, at times, yearning for more. I suppose such is life. I understand very well the concept of balance and how it is the foundation of my existence. Although one aspect of life maybe riddled in challenges or seeped in fear, the balance is an endless beauty wrapped in a degree of brilliant wonder.

Funny what I take away from my dreams. I wonder what I’ll dream of tonight.

Leave a comment